Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arizona Rattlers announced Wednesday that they have re-signed offensive lineman Antonio Jemison, kicker Sawyer Petre, linebacker Justin Shirk, and offensive lineman Vernon Sainvil for the 2018 season.  All four players were members of the 2017 Indoor Football League (IFL) championship team.

K Petre (5-10, 185, Puget Sound) is also entering his second season with the Rattlers.  Last season, Petre led the IFL in points after touchdown (PATs) percentage (95.7 percent), PATs made (89), and field goal percentage (60 percent). Petre was also second in the league in scoring (kicking) with 134 points. This earned Petre Second Team All-IFL honors.

Prior to joining the Rattlers, Petre attended Puget Sound University where in 2014 he was All-NWC (Northwest Conference) second team, and holds the all-time Loggers record for longest field goal (51 yards).

The Denver, Colorado native attended Kent Denver High School, where he was a two-time All-Conference kicker and punter and was Second Team All-State kicker and punter as a senior.

LB Shirk (6-0, 245, Bloomsburg) will be entering his second season with Arizona.  Shirk had an impact on the defense last season, ranking fourth on the team in tackles (53.5) and second in sacks (7.5). He also had three pass breakups, a forced fumble, and a blocked kick.

Prior to joining the team, Shirk signed with the National Football League’s (NFL) Indianapolis Colts in 2015, and spent all of training camp with the team.

The Harrisburg, Pennsylvania native attended Bloomsburg University where he earned two All-American honors in his senior season after recording an astounding 120 tackles, 21.5 of them for a loss, 11 sacks, two forced fumbles and a pick.  He was also named to the All-PSAC (Pennsylvania State Athletics Conference) team all four years (second team his freshman and sophomore seasons; first team his junior and senior seasons).

OL Jemison (6-3, 320, Faulkner) is entering his second season with the Rattlers.

Jemison played his first two collegiate seasons at Mississippi Delta Community College before transferring to Faulkner University in 2013. In his first season, Jemison helped anchor the defensive line, earning second-team all-conference honors.

The Bessemer, Alabama native played his high school football at McAdory High School, also in Alabama.

OL Sainvil (6-4, 330, St. Francis Xavier) joined the Rattlers late last season, and will be entering his first full season with the team.

Sainvil attended St. Francis Xavier University, where he was the anchor of the offensive line that led the conference in yards per game (484.5) and was second overall in rushing (160.9 yards per game).  He was named the Atlantic University Sport (AUS) Outstanding Lineman of the Year, and was named to the AUS All-Star Team three straight years.

The Malden, Massachusetts native attended Malden High School, where he only allowed six total sacks in two seasons for the Golden Tornadoes.

# # #

About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members and current champions of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994.  They also won the United Bowl in 2017. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit



Contact: Peter Garbow, (989) 395-3789,


Other News


    November 14, 2017

    Rattlers to Play Eight Home Games, Six Away Phoenix, Ariz. – The World Champion Arizona Rattlers have announced the 14-game 2018 regular season schedule as they begin to defend their title in the Indoor Football League (IFL). Season tickets are … Continued


    November 2, 2017

    Nic Marshall competed in BCS National Championship as the Quarterback for Auburn, Defensive Back in NFL Antonio Marshall played Defensive Back for the Crush last season Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arizona Rattlers announced Thursday that they have signed brothers Antonio … Continued