WEEK 1: Arizona Rattlers (0-0) at Sioux Falls Storm (0-0) Game Preview

Phoenix, Ariz.- The Arizona Rattlers head into their season opener against the Sioux Falls Storm eager to start their journey in the Indoor Football League (IFL). They will be tested early in the season on the road against the six-time defending champions with a newly revamped roster.

Last season, fans might have called this the clash of leagues with the best team from the Arena Football League (AFL) and the best team from the IFL facing off. This Friday in Sioux Falls the two teams will face off against one another for the first time and the winner will start season with a confident edge. The Storm is the team with the biggest target on their backs this season, being the six-time defending champions. While the Rattlers may be the new team in the league this season; they look to make an impact quickly and carry over their success from the AFL into the IFL.

The Rattlers will come into their inaugural IFL season with just five returning players from last season’s roster; while the Storm will have 15 returning players from last season. Arizona also will be looking to see who will step in as their new quarterback. Quarterbacks, Darron Thomas, Jon Wolf and Cody Sokol are all looking to show their talents and step-up to be the franchises new starter under center.

On the other hand, from the Storm’s perspective, they will have Lorenzo Brown returning as their starting quarterback Brown will have to face returning members of the secondary for the Rattlers, defensive backs Arkeith Brown and Allen Chapman. Last season in the AFL the two combined for total of 9 interceptions in the regular season. They will for sure be looking to get their hands on the ball in the season opener; while the young Rattlers defensive line will be looking to pressure Brown all game long.

The Rattlers will face the Storm in Sioux Falls at the Denny Sanford Premier Center this Friday at 6:05 p.m. PDT.  The game will be streamed on YouTube Live on a tablet, smartphone, or streaming device.


About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit www.azrattlers.com.

By: Jake Cormany  | Released: February 16, 2017

Contact: Peter Garbow, (989) 395-3789, pgarbow@azrattlers.com


Other News


    September 13, 2017

        Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arizona Rattlers announced Wednesday that they have re-signed defensive back Allen Chapman, defensive lineman Josh Gordon, defensive lineman Justin Martin, and quarterback Darron Thomas for the 2018 Indoor Football League (IFL) season.  All four … Continued


    September 1, 2017

    Monroe led league in rushing; First team All-IFL Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arizona Rattlers announced Friday that they have re-signed offensive lineman Glen Haisley Jr. and running back Darrell Monroe for the 2018 Indoor Football League (IFL) season.  Both were … Continued