Three Rattlers Re-sign for 2017

Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arizona Rattlers announced Monday that they have signed three players who have played previously for the Rattlers in their inaugural season in the Indoor Football League (IFL).

Wide receiver Antonio Vaughan played for the Rattlers last season (2016), while defensive end/linebacker Leon Mackey and defensive back Demar Dorsey played for the Rattlers during their championship run in 2014.  Dorsey also spent training camp with the Rattlers in 2016.

Dorsey (6-1, 185, Arizona Western) attended Arizona Western in 2012, where he played safety.

The Fort Lauderdale, Florida native attended Boyd Anderson High School where he was a four-star recruit and an Under Armour High School All-American his senior year.

Mackey (6-5, 260, Texas Tech) left the Rattlers in 2015 to join the National Football League’s Minnesota Vikings.  He also attended the rookie mini-camp for the Miami Dolphins in 2013.

Mackey attended Texas Tech where he earned honorable mention All-Big XII honors in 2012 while playing defensive end, defensive tackle, and linebacker for the Red Raiders.

The Wilmington, Delaware native attended Hargrave Military Academy where he was considered the ninth-best prep school player in the country by

Vaughan (5-9, 180, Old Dominion) attended camp for the National Football League’s Jacksonville Jaguars in 2015.

The 5-9 180-pound Vaughan attended Old Dominion where in 2014 he caught 63 passes for 1,019 yards and 14 touchdowns, which earned him first-team All-Conference USA honors. Vaughan also earned second-team All-CAA honors his sophomore year.

The Ahoskie, North Carolina native attended Hertford County High School where he was named to the NCPreps.Com 3A All-State Football Team after snagging 10 career interceptions, including four returned for touchdowns.

For more information, head to


About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 1st, 2016

Contact: Peter Garbow, (989) 395-3789,

Other News